Goucher College Equal Suffrage League (1916 – 1919)
Held its first meeting in January 1916 I Bennett Hall led by chapter president Ida Glatt ’17. Lilian Welsh spoke with 250 people in attendance.

Goucher College Equal Rights Council – 1932

Women’s Civic League of Baltimore
Founded in 1911, this organization focused on improving living conditions and public education in Baltimore City. Notable members were Dr. Claribel Cone, Madeline E. Ellicott, Eleanor Lord, Julia Rogers and Mary Sherwood. It was not a suffrage organization, but many members were supported women’s right to vote.

Equal Suffrage League
Formed in 1909 and hosted Wednesday teas. Notable prominent members: Elizabeth King Ellicott, Julia Rogers and Mary Sherwood.

National Women’s Party
The Congressional Union (CU), under the leadership of Alice Paul, formed the National Women’s Party to include women who were already enfranchised. Both organizations merged in 1917. The NWP was known for its militant tactics and picketing of the White House 1917 – 1919 leading to the arrests of many NWP members. In 1922, the party reorganized to focus on women’s rights and discrimination. Alice Paul drafted the Equal Rights Amendment. In 1997, the NWP mission changed from a lobbying congress to education.

League of Women Voters
Upon the ratification of the 19 th Amendment in 1920, NAWSA restructured to support new voters and became the League of Women’s Voters. It is still in existence today.

Just Government League
Formed by Edith Houghton Hooker in 1909 and hosted open-air and parlor meetings. It merged with the Maryland National American Women’s Suffrage Association in 1916. Goucher college was actively involved and hosted a suffrage spelling bee in 1915. Many alums joined JGL upon graduation

National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA)
NAWSA, founded in 1890 – 1920, it was the largest national suffrage organization and had state branches. Prominent members include: Susan B. Anthony, Anna Howard Shaw, and Carrie Chapman Catt.

Baltimore Suffrage Club
Founded by Emma Maddox Funck in 1894, they held weekly Sunday afternoon meetings to discuss and engage politically by petitioning congress.

Maryland Woman Suffrage Association
In 1906, the organization introduced suffrage to the state legislature in 1906 when it was dismissed. The organization introduced another bill in 1912 with the backing of 30,000 signatures and again it was dismissed. Maryland Federation of Republican Women

Congressional Union (1913 – 1916)
A congressional committee for NAWSA founded by Alice Paul that focused on the passage of the 19 th Amendment. NAWSA and CU split in December 1916 due to differing tactical ideologies. CU members: Lucy Burns, Mabel Vernon, Inez Mulholland Boissevain. CU merged with the National Women’s Party in 1917.

The State Woman Suffrage Association
Mary Bentley Thomas was president from 1894 – 1904.
Emma Maddox Funck was president from 1904 – 1920.