Backup/Restore

Why choose backup/restore?

Restoring a course from a backup is the same as making a complete duplicate, including course settings and customizations.  If you’re teaching the same course in a new semester and you’d like to use the same course material and personalized settings, the backup/restore method is for you.

Instructions:

Backup

**Note: Full backups are created automatically on a daily basis for courses that are available to students. Use these instructions if you want to create a custom backup.

  1. Click Backup in the Administration panel.
  2. On the next page called “Initial Settings,” check or uncheck the files and settings you’d like to save.  Click Next.
  3. Click Next on the following page.
  4. Click Perform Backup.  ***This process may take a few minutes
  5. After the backup has finished, click Continue.  You’ll be taken to a page where you can either save the archive file or restore the old course into a new course.

–If you’d just like to save the archive file to your computer, read the instructions under Saving.
–OR if you’d like to restore the archive file into a new course, read the instructions under Restore.

Saving A Backup To Your Computer

  1. Click Restore in the course Administration panel.
  2. (a) To download a custom backup (see above), find the backup file you just created in the “Course Backup Area” and click Download.
    download_backup
    (b) To download an automated backup, go to the “Automated backups” section at the bottom of the screen, click “Manage backup files”, click the single Moodle icon , and then click Download.
    download_backup
  3. You can usually choose where on your computer to save the file depending on the web browser you use.  Select the appropriate location and save the file.

Restore

  1. Go to the course you are copying into and click Restore in the Administration panel.
  2. From the top of the screen, either drag and drop your backup file into the “Files” area or click Choose a file… to browse to the backup file on your computer.
  3. Click Restore and then scroll down and click Continue. 
  4. Scroll to the 2nd section labeled “Restore into this course”,  choose to merge or replace, and then click Continue.

    Merging Contents vs. Deleting Existing Contents
    –If you’d like to combine together materials from the new and old courses, select “Merge the backup course into the existing course.”
    –If you’d like to delete all the new course’s contents entirely and copy the old course exactly, select “Delete the contents of the existing course and then restore.”

  5. On the following page, deselect “Include enrolled users” and then click Next.
  6. Click Next again.
  7. Click Perform Restore.
  8. After the restore process is complete, click Continue.

Your backup/restore is now complete.

 

If you’d like to watch a detailed tutorial on the custom backup process, please watch this youtube video